Skip to content

Creamy Chana Masala

December 11, 2013

As a new graduate student, I have been on a budget in terms of going out for dinner. For a week, I was really craving a big bowl of delicious chana masala. Chana masala is one of my favourite dishes. I love the chickpeas, and I love the silky sauce that accompanies them. Unable to go out for dinner, I decided to bring the Indian food to me. We made chana masala along with dum alooo. I have to say, they were very good. A bit time consuming, but delicious and definitely worth it.

I unfortunately do not have a picture of the chana masala, but I can tell you it was delicious!

Creamy Chana Masala adapted from The Gluttonous Vegan
Makes a lot!

Ingredients:

  • 1 tbsp EVOO
  • 1/2 of an onion
  • 4 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 inch of fresh ginger or 1 tsp ginger powder
  • 1 can crushed tomatoes
  • 1 tsp dried chili flakes
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 2 tsp ground coriander
  • 1/2 tsp turmeric
  • 1 tsp fennel powder
  • 2 cans of chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 1 can of coconut milk
  • 1 tsp coriander powder
  • 1/4 tsp garam masala
  • juice from 1/2 a lemon

Directions:

  1. Heat a medium sized pan and add the oil. Sautee the onion until translucent.
  2. Add ginger and garlic and cook for a few minutes. Then add tomatoes, chili flakes, cumin, coriander, turmeric, and fennel powder. Simmer.
  3. Stir in the chickpeas. Then add the coconut milk.
  4. Stir together the ingredients and allow to simmer until mixture reduces a bit.
  5. Add the coriander and garam masala, along with the lemon juice.

This was a delicious chana masala. It was very creamy and as with all curries, was better the next day. This recipe made a very large amount. Left over Indian food is always great in my book. I served this with basmati rice and dum aloo for an excellent feast.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

