Skip to content

Whipped Shortbread Cookies

December 9, 2013


photo (1)

Wow! It’s been a while. 🙂 Graduate school is fun but very time consuming. Thankfully, I have still been cooking (and eating) up a storm. The other night my friend came over for some late night hang outs. We thought it would be fun to make some cookies. She doesn’t bake very much, but this was a good beginner recipe to try out.

Whipped Shortbread Cookies from Taste of Home
Makes 16-18 dozen cookies.

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups of softened butter
  • 1 1/2 cups of confectioners (icing) sugar
  • 4 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 cups cornstarch
  • 1 to 2 tsp almond extract
  • Toppings (sprinkles, cherries, etc)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 300F and line baking sheets with parchment paper or silicone baking mats.
  2. Using a stand mixer, cream the butter and sugar until light and fluffy.
  3. Begin gradually adding flour and corn starch. Beat until well-blended.
  4. Flour your hands and roll dough into 1″ balls. Place balls 1″ apart from one another on the baking sheet.
  5. Using a lightly floured fork, gently press down on the ball to flatten it. Put toppings on the flattened balls.
  6. Bake for 20-22 minutes, or until bottoms are golden brown.
  7. Cool for 5 minutes before transferring to a cooling rack.

The cookies turn out very soft and delicious. They are quite fragile though, so be careful when transferring them from the pan to the rack. I decided to add in some almond extract which I think was a good decision. It gave the cookies a very light taste. Unfortunately, I didn’t have any Christmas specific sprinkles so I just used some stars. I think they still look very cute though!

I will also say that this recipe seemed to adapt well. I realized I didn’t have enough of the ingredients until I already started baking so I ended up having to use 4/5s of the recipe amount. Unfortunately, I didn’t realize that the yield was 16-18 dozen and thought it was 16-18 cookies. I would have definitely halved, or even  a third, the recipe!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

