Skip to content

Big Fat Taco Salad

July 18, 2013

photo (7)

Hey everyone!

I hope you’re enjoying the beautiful summer! Today I made a deliciously simple salad. Best part? No cooking involved!

The recipe is ridiculously simple and zero effort. I think it took about 3 minutes to throw this together. The hardest part was opening the can and rinsing the beans.

Big Fat Taco Salad from Appetite for Reduction by Isa Chandra Moskowitz
Serves 4

Ingredients:

  • 4 cups of shredded lettuce
  • 1 15-oz can of black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 cup of salsa (original calls for 1 recipe of salsa dressing)
  • 4 oz of tortilla chips, crumbled
  • 1/2 cup of cilantro, chopped

Directions:

  1. Wash, dry, and shred lettuce.
  2. Assemble your salad (lettuce, beans, salsa, crumbled chips, cilantro).

Like I said, this recipe isn’t difficult by any means. So simple to assemble but it tastes great. The original recipe calls for making salsa dressing and serving the salad with guacamame (guacamole made from edamame) but I didn’t do that. Regular salsa worked just fine for me! I’d also like to add that this recipe is deceptively filling. The black beans add a good punch of protein and fibre which makes it more filling. I also made my salad a bit bigger by using more lettuce than called for (2 cups instead of 1 per person).

The original recipe is vegan but I added some cheese to go with it. Overall this made for an excellent summer dinner. We enjoyed our salad while relaxing on the patio. 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

