Skip to content

Pecan and Double Chocolate Chunk Cookies

May 31, 2013

photo (2)

I mentioned previously that I made two different batches of cookies: Peanut Butter Oatmeal Chocolate Chipsters and Chocolate Chip Cookies using a previous recipe. I remade Dorie Greenspan’s Best Chocolate Chip cookies but this time I used a mixture of white and semisweet chocolate and added pecans. 🙂

These cookies were really easy and quick. Everything comes together pretty fast and it uses minimal ingredients which is nice. If you have the time you can chop your chocolate into chunks (which I did) or if you’d prefer to make your cookies faster you can use chocolate chips. Honestly, I only chopped my chocolate because I didn’t have any chips but had a bunch of baking chocolate. I do like how they look though! The chunks give a nice visual component since they are more rustic looking versus chocolate chips.

Dorie Greenspan’s Chocolate Chip Cookies from Baking: From My Home to Yours (pg 68)

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt (I used less salt as I used salted butter)
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 sticks (8 ounces) of salted butter, room temperature
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2/3 cup (packed) light brown sugar
  • 2  1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 2 large eggs
  • 6 oz semisweet chocolate, roughly chopped
  • 6 oz white chocolate, roughly chopped
  • 1 cup roughly chopped pecans

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 375F and line two baking sheets with parchment paper or silicone baking mats.
  2. Whisk together the flour, sugar, baking soda, and salt.
  3. In a separate bowl blend the butter until smooth and creamy. Add the sugars and beat until well blended (around 2 minutes). Add the eggs one at a time, blending for 1 minute after each addition.Beat in the vanilla.
  4. Divide the dry ingredients into three portions and blend one portion at a time into the wet ingredients. Add the chocolate chunks and pecans and either stir in by hand or use the stir mixer on low speed.
  5. If you have time available: refrigerate the dough.
  6. Use a tablespoon to drop the dough onto the baking sheets. Chilled dough will form better. Place each cookie two inches apart from one another.
  7. Bake the cookies for 12-15 minutes, rotating the pan at the midway point. The cookies are ready when they are golden brown and firm around the edges.
  8. Allow the cookies to rest for a few minutes before transferring to a cooling rack.

This makes about 45 cookies. I really like how the cookies look! The chunks of chocolate and pecans just look really nice together. I’m glad I mixed the white and dark chocolate together for this cookie. You get the feeling of having double chocolate even though I didn’t use any more chocolate than what the original recipe calls for. Visually the white chocolate chunks create a nice contrast against the brown cookies, dark chocolate, and pecans.

The original recipe calls to use either walnuts or pecans. I actually really hate walnuts but pecans give the cookies a great texture. I thought about adding coconut shreds to these cookies (like I did last time) but felt that it would have been too much going on in one cookie.

These are delicious! Especially when they come right out of the oven and you have a nice cold glass of mik with them. 🙂 Sean prefers these cookies over the Peanut Butter Oatmeal Chocolate Chipsters but they’re more of your class chocolate chip cookie which I think makes a difference. Either way: they’re delicious!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

