Skip to content

Chocolate Oatmeal

January 21, 2013

photo (8)

My friend recently provided me a link for Chocolate Covered Katie. I had read her blog in the past, but completely forgot about her blog! It was a nice reminder. 🙂

I flipped through her recipes this morning and decided to make some breakfast for Sean and me. He’s off to work today, so I wanted to make him a filling healthy breakfast. We’re trying hard right now to stop buying food at work. I also packed him a lunch of Rajmah curry. He may not enjoy kidney beans as much as I do, but my cat Freya certainly does! After I rinse kidney beans I let them drain in a colander, and she always steals some. It’s super cute but also kind of frustrating because you can’t turn your back to her.

Anyways! My dad bought me a giant box of quaker oats from Costco so they need to be used up. Thankfully they’re just plain oats rather than pre-packaged flavoured ones so the sky is the limit for flavours!

I settled on making chocolate oatmeal for us. 🙂

Chocolate Oatmeal
From Chocolate Covered Katie

Ingredients

  • 80g of cooked oats
  • 1 1/2 cups of almond and coconut milk (SO GOOD)
  • 3 tbsp of cocoa powder
  • 1.5 tsp of vanilla
  • pinch of salt
  • 2 bananas
  • 1/2 an oz of bitter sweet chocolate, shaved

Directions

  1. Add oats, milk, cocoa powder, salt, vanilla, and banana to a pot. Cook on medium heat, uncovered.
  2. After 5-7 minutes, stir in the chocolate.

I doubled her original recipe (this recipe makes 2 servings). When I first started out I felt really confused about whether the oats were supposed to be pre-cooked or not. I ended up putting everything except the banana and the chocolate in the pot and cooked the oats (i.e. bring to a boil, then simmer for 5-7 minutes). Then I added the banana and chocolate and cooked for another 5 minutes. It ended up working out in the end! Just took a lot longer than I expected.

This recipe was really good! I decided to add chocolate to the pot because I find cocoa powder doesn’t have an intense chocolate flavour and that was what I was looking for this morning. Putting the banana into the oats was really delicious too because they smelled like they were almost caramelized. They also added a lot of volume to the oats which was great as well.

After eating this I felt comfortably full (6-7 on the full scale). Hopefully Sean will stay pretty full so he doesn’t have to buy any food at work today! That’s always a true test.

I think for tomorrow morning I’ll precook some oats for tonight and make some more of her oatmeal options! She has so many, and I’m excited to try them. 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

