Skip to content

Lentil Tacos

January 17, 2013

photo (10) photo (7)photo (9)

We’re back home in Canada! Living in Europe was a really amazing experience, and I’m so glad we had the opportunity to go. I enjoyed the travel experiences immensely, but I also enjoyed how Sean and I made dinner almost every night. That was really nice, and it’s a great way to bond if you cook together.

Now that we’re back we’re retrying some of the foods we missed while in Europe (nachos, Starbucks, etc). However, I don’t feel the need to really be eating this things as much as we were before we left. So that’s great!

I’m working on trying to do a meal plan each week, but this week I kind of failed at it. I just started my new job on Monday, so it’s been a bit of an adjustment especially after not working for 4 months. Thursday night was deemed Taco Night, so we made tacos! I think it was the only night this week I legit cooked what the meal plan dictated, haha.

I got this recipe from AllRecipes.com. It was pretty tasty, I didn’t change much.

Lentil Tacos
From allrecipes.com

Ingredients

  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 1 clove of garlic, minced
  • 1 package of taco seasoning
  • 1 cup of green lentils, rinsed
  • 1 cup of vegetarian chicken broth
  • 1 pinch of crushed red pepper flakes
  • salsa (add at the end, to taste)

Directions

  1. Heat oil in a large pot. Add onions and garlic and cook until tender, approx 5 minutes.
  2. Add the lentils, taco seasoning, and crushed red pepper flakes. Stir for 1 minute.
  3. Add the broth, bring pot to a boil.
  4. Once boiling, turn heat down and simmer with a cover for 25-30 minutes or until lentils are tender.
  5. Remove the cover and allow to cook for an additional 5-7 minutes.
  6. Slightly mash the lentils, then add salsa to taste.
  7. Serve with your favourite fixin’s!

These were really good. My brother’s favourite food is tacos so I was glad that he enjoyed these. They get the brother stamp of approval. 🙂 I find lentils are a really great substitute for ground beef, especially with the right herbs and spices.

We served our tacos with a mix of hard shell and soft shell tacos. For toppings we used shredded romaine lettuce, salsa, cheddar cheese (I missed cheddar cheese while in Europe!!!), plain greek yogurt, and pickles. I know pickles is kind of a weird topping, but we’ve always eaten tacos this way. They’re so good with tacos, I don’t know why.

My favourite thing to do after eating hard shell tacos is to take the left overs and make a “taco salad”. It’s a good way to clean up a messy plate. 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

