Skip to content

Forty Clove Garlic, Chickpeas and Broccoli

December 7, 2012

Forty Clove Chickpeas

Tonight for dinner we ended up making forty clove garlic, chickpeas, and broccoli! It was so good. 🙂 It’s not actually forty cloves of garlic, but it is 10! So it’s pretty garlicky which obviously means it’s super delicious. We ended up slyly using our landlady’s oven again since she’s not here for the weekend. Hooray! And this time we weren’t caught.

Forty Clove Chickpeas and Broccoli via Appetite for Reduction

Ingredients

  • 1 lb of broccoli (we used one head of broccoli)
  • 1 can of chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 1 yellow pepper, diced (not a part of the original recipe but we didn’t have a 1 lb of broccoli!)
  • 10 cloves of garlic, diced (recipe calls to smash it but people said the garlic was still undercooked while the broccoli was cooked)
  • 2 tsp of olive oil
  • fresh ground black pepper
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 1/2 tsp of oregano
  • 1 tsp lemon zest (didn’t have this)
  • 1 cup of vegetable broth

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 400F.
  2. Chop broccoli, pepper, and garlic. Add to a 9 x 13″ pan along with the garlic. Toss with olive oil, salt, pepper, lemon zest, and oregano.
  3. Bake for 30 minutes, flipping half way through.
  4. Add the vegetable broth and bake for another 15 minutes or until some of the broccoli is browned and garlic is tender.

We just ate this, and it was really good! I found that the liquid wasn’t all absorbed but I think it may be because we didn’t use the right amount of broccoli. However, it was still pretty good. The garlic was really yummy and the broccoli was good partially crispy! Next time I make it I will definitely use the 1 lb of broccoli.

As I get closer to New Years I’ve been reflecting on being a vegetarian. I really enjoy it and I’m happy I made this decision. I feel healthier but also lighter because I’m not eating huge quantities of meat. I do have cravings every now and then but I realize that it’s more that I miss the social interactions i.e. chicken wings at the pub with some beer. I’ve found a lot of great meals and am being more adventurous with my meals which is also great. It forces you to be creative which I think is great as someone who likes to cook.

I’ve been toying with the idea of going vegan as my New Years 2013 resolution but I’m not really sure. I typically eat mostly vegan but I do enjoy cheese and milk still. I have a lot of thinking to do! I do cook mostly vegan though, so I feel good regardless.

Anyways! That’s my little stance on being a vegetarian. I’m enjoying it and I think I will continue to keep it up!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

