Skip to content

Tortilla Soup

October 3, 2012

This is my first year doing the Vegan MoFo, but I’ve watched other vegan blogs I read participate. I’m really excited to participate this year! Even though I’m not a vegan, a lot of the food I make at home is actually vegan 😀 I’m thinking about making the transition, and right now I’m just collecting delicious recipes to see how I feel about it.

I made this recipe a few weeks ago, but with the weather becoming cooler here in Maastricht a soup sounded like a great idea. Sean and I decided to make this delicious tortilla soup. It was spicy and warm enough for us to feel cozy in our little kitchen. 🙂

This recipe was fun because Sean has an aversion to zucchini, but he actually really enjoyed it this time around. That was a very pleasant surprise. 🙂

Tortilla Soup
From Oh She Glows

Ingredients:

  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 5 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 red pepper and 1 yellow pepper, diced
  • 1 can of corn
  • 1 zucchini, chopped
  • 5 tbsp cumin
  • 28-oz can of crushed tomatoes
  • 3 cups vegetable broth (used vegan chicken broth)
  • 1 cans of black beans, drained and rinsed
  • salt, pepper, crushed red pepper flakes to taste
  • avocado to garnish, chopped

Directions

  1. Prep the onion and garlic. Sauté for 5 minutes in a large pot over medium-low heat.
  2. Chop the vegetables as the garlic and onions cook. Add to the pot and sauté until softened (5-10 minutes).
  3. Add the crushed tomatoes, vegetable broth, and seasonings. Stir well and allow to simmer for 25-30 minutes.
  4. Add the black beans to the soup 5 minutes prior to finishing, to heat the beans through.
  5. Garnish with vegan cheese, green onions, and/or avocado.

This recipe was really simple and easy, which I always appreciate. But the best part was how delicious it was! I increased the seasonings as we like it spicy, but it’s easier to under season and adjust rather than over season. 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

