Skip to content

Stir Fry and Mashed Potatoes

August 4, 2012

I went to the Farmers Market for the first time the other weekend, and I ended up picking up a bunch of fresh vegetables to use for a dinner. I ended up using most of the vegetables for a stir fry that night, and oh my god it was so good. I don’t know if it was the combination of the fresh veggies or just what but it was good! I also made mashed potatoes with it, haha. I was just really craving them after visiting my friend who made them in a really interesting way. Talking about them makes me crave them again, haha!

I used a spicy peanut sauce that I’ve used previously for this recipe. I also marinated my zucchini in teriyaki sauce for a bit of a change and it was so tasty!

Stir Fry

Ingredients 

Sauce

  • 1/2 cup chicken broth (I used vegetarian chicken broth)
  • 3 tbsp soy
  • 1 1/2 tbsp agave nectar
  • 3 tbsp peanut butter
  • 1 tbsp fresh minced ginger
  • 3 cloves of minced garlic
  • 1 tbsp hot chile paste
  1. Combine all the ingredients into a sauce pan and simmer on low heat until the peanut butter has melted. Stir occasionally.

Stir Fry

  • 1 tbsp of olive oil
  • 1 head of broccoli, divided into florets
  • 1 can of chickpeas, rinsed and drained
  • 1/2 onion
  • 3 cloves of garlic
  • 1 bell pepper
  • 1 zucchini, marinated in teriyaki sauce
  • kale
  • toasted sesame seeds
  • green onion
  1. Fry onion and garlic in olive oil on medium heat for about 7 minutes.
  2. Add broccoli for about 4 minutes.
  3. Add kale, chickpeas, zucchini, and green pepper to the pan and cook for about 5 minutes or until vegetables reach desired tenderness.
  4. Toss the stir fry with the spicy peanut sauce and serve! Add sesame seeds and green onions.

I’m not giving a recipe for the mashed potatoes because they’re mashed potatoes… However, I will tell you what I did! I added garlic cloves to the water I boiled the potatoes in so that as the water boiled the garlic infused into the potatoes. Once the potatoes were tender, I mashed the garlic into the potatoes. It was soooooo good! I’m craving these now, haha. I also topped them with some fresh farmer markets green onion.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

