Skip to content

Rajmah Curry

July 30, 2012

I don’t think it’s really a secret on here that I enjoy curry. I make spicy food often, and I do really enjoy international cuisine that features bold and spicy flavours. When we were taking care of Sean’s supervisors cats it was great because we were central downtown and able to order all sorts of delicious food we normally can’t order!

I decided one night to make this rajmah which is essentially a kidney bean curry. I love kidney beans (incidentally so does my cat, Freya!) and I love curry so this seemed like a no-brainer!

Rajmah Curry
Adapted from the Smitten Kitchen

Ingredients

  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/4 cup of peeled fresh ginger
  • 1/2 an onion, chopped
  • 4 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 serrano pepper, diced
  • 3 tsp cumin
  • 2 tsp ground coriander
  • 2 tsp tumeric
  • 1 tsp cumin seeds
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne powder
  • 8 oz crushed red tomato sauce
  • 2 cans of kidney beans, rinsed and drained
  • chopped fresh cilantro

Directions

  1. Heat oil in a pan on medium heat, then saute onions.
  2. After 5 minutes of cooking onions, add ginger, chili pepper, garlic and sizzle for 1 minute.
  3. Add your tomato sauce and spices. Allow flavours to meld for about 5 minutes.
  4. Add the kidney beans and bring to a boil. Once boiling, turn it down to medium heat and allow to simmer for 10 minutes.

This was a good curry! I had to play around with the spices in order to make it taste how I wanted, so feel free to start off with a small amount of the spices and then add more. 🙂 I changed a few things compared to the original recipe but I feel as though I’ve just gotten to a point in my cooking where I know what my tastes and preferences are so why bother doing something if I know I won’t like it! I served this with naan bread which was just delicious, and the fresh cilantro went really well with the dish as well. 🙂

This was a fun recipe, I’ll probably repeat it at some point since I do really love kidney beans… Honestly, they’re my favourite bean.

The sad story behind this dish though was that Sean was supposed to help me cook it but he ended up having a skateboarding accident and it seemed like he had broken his wrist… His dad took him to the ER so that he could have his wrist X-rayed to make sure it wasn’t a break… So I ended up cooking this meal on my own because I felt like I would get in the way at the ER and I wanted to have a good dinner waiting for him when he got home. Anyways, his wrist ended up being ok! It was just a REALLY bad sprain…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

