Skip to content

Creamy Avocado Pasta

May 10, 2012

When I was at work the other day my boss mentioned a pasta dish she had recently made involving avocado. She said that the avocado made the dish really creamy, and that it was a super simple meal to make. The more I thought about this dish, the better it sounded! I decided I wanted to try and make it for lunch, and I’m so glad I did. I added chickpeas and feta cheese, the original recipe didn’t call for them. I’m glad I added them though because they made the meal super delicious. It was a really creamy sauce, and even better the only cooking involved was for the pasta (luckily for me I had pre-cooked pasta in the fridge, so I just used that!).

This meal comes together really fast with the help of a food processor, and only serves two but it would be easy to double or even triple the recipe. If you don’t include the feta cheese, the recipe is completely vegan and would be a great recipe to demonstrate to omnivores that vegan food is delicious!

Creamy Avocado Pasta
Oh She Glows 

Ingredients

  • 1 medium ripe avocado
  • 1/2 a lemon, juiced and zested
  • 2-3 cloves of garlic (I used three) 
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup fresh basil (I guestimated) 
  • 2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 servings of pasta
  • fresh cracked black pepper

Directions

  1. Cook your pasta according to directions.
  2. While your pasta is cooking, put your olive oil, lemon juice, and garlic cloves into the food processor. Pulse until smooth.
  3. Add the avocado, basil, and salt. Process until smooth.
  4. Once your pasta is done, drain and toss the sauce on top. Mix until combined. Add your chickpeas and feta cheese (I used a sun-dried tomato and basil feta cheese).
  5. Garnish with lemon zest and black pepper.

This meal was so simple, and so tasty. I’ve found I’ve gotten into cooking more whole foods, especially when the dishes are so incredibly simple. This pasta dish was super tasty, and really filling with the addition of chickpeas for protein. I ate my serving for lunch, and Sean had some for dinner. The recipe says to serve immediately, but we found it microwaved relatively well.

My only issue with this recipe was that my food processor had a difficult time making everything smooth. I think it was because there was too much space (i.e. the food processor was a bit too big) but even not 100% smooth it was delicious! Sean found the garlic a wee bit overpowering, but I love garlic so I found this delish!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

