Skip to content

Coconut Curry Penne

May 9, 2012

One of my local restaurants makes a chicken coconut curry penne. I used to order it a lot when I wasn’t vegetarian, but now that I am I can no longer eat it! It’s always really tasty, and the curry (which is more on the sweet side) and coconut go really well together. Normally I eat my curry either sans rice or with rice, but sometimes doing it with different things like pasta is a lot of fun. I always eat whole wheat pasta, I find it more texturally pleasing, but you could use white flour pasta.

Coconut Curry Penne

Ingredients

  • 1 cup of shredded coconut
  • 1/2 an onion, roughly chopped
  • 3 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 head of broccoli
  • 1 cup of snow peas
  • 1 can of coconut milk
  • 1 can of kidney beans, drained and rinsed
  • 5 tbsp of curry paste
  • 4 tbsp of hot curry powder
  • 4 cups of cooked penne pasta

Directions

  1. In a small pan, toast your shredded coconut until lightly browned and fragrant. Put aside.
  2. Saute onion on medium heat for 4-5 minutes, then saute garlic. Add the broccoli and fry for a few more minutes.
  3. Add the coconut milk, curry paste, curry powder, and kidney beans. Stir well to combine everything.
  4. Add the snow peas, and cook for a 2-3 minutes.
  5. Mix the curry and the penne together until combined. Top with the shredded coconut.

This curry was really delicious, and fast! I made it spicy rather than sweet, but it still worked well with the shredded coconut. I found the kidney beans to be a good addition to the curry, and they worked really well in this dish! It was a nice and fast meal, and made a ton of left overs so I was able to eat curry for breakfast for a few days (one of my favourite things to do!).

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

