Skip to content

Chipotle, Corn, and Black Bean Stew

February 7, 2012

I mentioned in my previous post that we had made chana masala instead of this stew because of the weather. I know it’s called a “stew” but I really feel like it was more of a soup than a stew. Well, I made the soup on Tuesday (last week)! I was a bit apprehensive because I’ve tried a tomato based soup recipe from Veganomicon which lacked a lot of flavour but was still willing to give this soup a chance. I’m glad I did. The sweetness of the tomato with underlying notes of tangy lime and cilantro really worked, and worked well in this soup!

Chipotle, Corn, and Black Bean Stew
from Vegan with a Vengeance by Isa Chandra Moskowitz

Ingredients

  • 2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 an onion (called for 1 but we’re not onion people)
  • 3 cloves of garlic
  • 2 chipotle peppers, drained and chopped
  • 2 tsp cumin
  • 3 cups of water
  • 28oz can of crushed tomatoes
  • 6 red potatoes (called for 4 russest potatoes), diced
  • baby carrots (we used the equivalent of 2 full sized carrots), diced
  • 1 cup corn (we used a can)
  • 16 oz can of black beans (we used kidney beans!)
  • 1 cup of fresh cilantro, torn and lightly packed
  • juice of 1 lime
  • zest from 1 lime
  • salt and pepper, to taste

Directions

  1. Saute the onions in the olive oil on medium heat for approximately 5 minutes. Then add cumin, garlic, salt, and pepper. Saute for another minute before adding water, tomatoes, and chipotles. Then add potatoes and carrots.
  2. Bring pot to a boil, cover, and simmer for 20 minutes.
  3. After 20 minutes add beans and corn. Use more water if needed. Then cook uncovered for 5 minutes. Add lime juice, zest, and cilantro.
  4. Set aside for at least 10 minutes before serving.

When I made this soup I was pretty positive I had grabbed black beans, but when I got home I realized I had accidently grabbed kidney beans! It worked well in the recipe, though I feel like the black beans maybe would have thickened the soup a bit more so it’d be a stew instead of a soup. Next time! 🙂

This soup made a lot, so we froze it and have had it for dinner a few times. I really liked the combination of the lime with the tomatoes. When I tried the soup (prior to adding the juice) I felt worried that the soup was way too tomato-ey but the lime juice really complements and balances this meal, especially when you factor in the cilantro! 🙂 It was fun zesting the lime because I got to use my microplane grater for the first time! It worked so well.

As an aside: I’ve been really enjoying experimenting with cooking now that I’ve gone vegetarian. I’m really enjoying being a vegetarian as well. It’s been relatively painless which is amazing, but I also feel really great. I remember after eating a huge meal with meat I would feel really heavy and sluggish. Now that I’ve gone vegetarian though I don’t find that. I don’t find I’m eating more either, but I’m eating a varied amount of food. I’m trying hard to make sure I get enough protein, but otherwise I haven’t had to change much. Coming up with new dinners has been really fun!

Leave a Reply

