Skip to content

Mango BBQ Beans

January 5, 2012

SO GOOD OMG

So I made these for dinner (along with some Jasmine rice). THESE WERE SO GOOD. When I read the recipe earlier today I knew I had to make it – it sounded so delicious. When I made it though I felt a bit apprehensive but I had faith in Ms. Chandra Moskowitz. And I’m so glad I did.

I was a bit tired of my chili (which is delicious but it just makes so much) so I wanted something different for dinner. This was perfect for snuggling up on a cold winter night while it snows outside. 🙂

Mango BBQ Beans
Appetite for Reduction by Isa Chandra Moskowitz

Ingredients:

  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 1 onion, chopped finely (I used thicker ones)
  • 3 cloves of minced garlic
  • 1 mango, chopped small and seeded
  • 1 cup vegetable broth
  • 1 cup tomato sauce
  • 1/2 tsp of crushed red pepper flakes (I used 2 tsps)
  • 1 tsp ground coriander
  • 1/4 tsp allspice
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 (25-oz) can kidney beans, drained and rinsed (I used 2 19-oz cans)
  • 1 tsp liquid smoke
  • 2-3 tbsp agave nectar (I used 2 tbsps)
Directions:
  1. Saute garlic and onions in the olive oil until translucent (approximately 5 minutes).
  2. Add the beans, vegetable broth, tomato sauce, mango, all spice, coriander, salt, and red pepper flakes. Turn up the heat until the pot is brought to a rolling boil.
  3. Lower the heat and simmer for 45 minutes. Make sure the pot is covered with a little room for the steam escape. Make sure to stir often.
  4. After 45 minutes the sauce will thicken and the mangoes will cook down. Turn off the heat and add the liquid smoke and agave nectar and let the beans stand for 5 minutes.
  5. Taste and adjust seasonings if needed, then serve.

So I didn’t finely chop my onion or make my mango bits really small but it didn’t matter: this was amazing. Even my mango hating boyfriend gobbled this us. This recipe is great – it makes a lot (no small portions!) and is pretty low in calories and high in protein which is right up my alley. The mango was juicy and kidney beans are my most favourite legume. The liquid smoke was strange to me and smelled over powering but it worked well in this recipe! Gave the beans a nice smoky flavour. 🙂

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 6, 2012 12.52 am

    YUM. I love the colors in this dish.

Leave a Reply

