Skip to content

Vegetarian Chili

January 4, 2012

Nomz nomz nomz

So my New Years resolution this year is to be vegetarian. So far it’s been good! My boyfriend decided to do this with me, so it’s nice to have some support. My step-mother has also been a vegetarian for over 10 years so I have support from her as well. Anyways, when her and my dad got married this summer they served this chili. When I was eating it I didn’t even realize it was vegetarian but it was SO good. She sent me the recipe before New Years so I could start off vegetarianism the right way!

Ingredients:

  • 2-3 tablespoons of olive oil(I used 1 tbsp of flavoured olive oil)
  • 2 cloves of garlic (I used 3)
  • 2 onions (I used 1)
  • 2 bell peppers of any colour
  • 3 stalks of celery
  • 1 cup of fresh vegetables (your choice, I used green onions and peas)
  • 1 package of ground round (vegetarian)
  • 3 cans of tomato soup
  • 1 can of diced tomato
  • 1 can of corn (I used 2)
  • 3 cans of beans (any type)
  • A few chocolate chips
  • 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper
  • 4 tbsp of Mexican chili powder
  • 1/2 tbsp of salt and pepper (I didn’t add salt, but I did add a pinch of crushed red pepper)
Directions:
  1. Dice all the veggies.
  2. Saute the garlic and onions in the olive oil.
  3. Add the ground round, making sure to crumble and stir thoroughly.
  4. Add all the other veggies (I added the green onion here).
  5. Add the chili powder and cayenne pepper. Stir to blend.
  6. Add the tomato soup and diced tomato. (We used condensed tomato soup so added 3 cans full of water at this point)
  7. Add beans, corn, peas, salt, and pepper. (We drained all of our cans and rinsed with water)
  8. Simmer for 45 minutes to 1 1/2 hours.
  9. Stir in chocolate chips (until melted).

This recipe makes a TON. I started it in one huge pot and it just got too full so I had to go into another pot. So use a huge pot for this! It’s delicious though, and nobody will realize it’s vegetarian which is kind of awesome because it’s stealthy. It’s really delicious too. I used 3 cans of 6 types of mixed beans so it’s got a really awesome vibe to it. I love kidney beans and there’s red and white in this chili as well as chickpeas, lima beans, black eyed peas and something else! They’re delicious though. It’s really filling – you definitely do not need a lot. It’s a bit time intensive because you’re dicing all the vegetables but then you just leave it to do its thing on the stove. πŸ™‚

We were planning on making some vegan peanut butter pancakes to eat for breakfast this morning, but it didn’t happen. Maybe tomorrow! πŸ™‚

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2012 2.18 pm

    Hi! I will definitely have to share this with my vegetarian sister, I’m not technically vegetarian but, since we have a veggie friendly member in our family, meat-eating occasions are rare.

    • January 4, 2012 2.22 pm

      Awesome! I’m glad someone else will be able to make it. It’s really delicious. Just warn her it makes a lot, which is great because you can freeze it. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

