Skip to content

Cookies ‘n Cream Cupcakes

July 8, 2011

My hiatus is over for now. 🙂 I’ve got back logs of recipes and whatnot. Time to get posting!

I attended my father’s wedding in June, and my step-mother had only one request for me: to make some vegan desserts as she had vegan guests attending. The wedding itself was amazing, very low key and informal. The dinner was a pot luck which was really fun.

I’m not vegan, but I definitely love vegan food. I find it’s always really tasty, and I had a lot of fun making these desserts (though at the time it was stressful to figure out how I was going to transport everything!).  I ended up making a Smlove Pie (which I’ve made before), and some Vegan Cookies ‘n Cream cupcakes. This time I made the Smlove pie the “correct way” (i.e. made the chocolate ganache, and maple candied pecans). I also bought Brown Rice syrup for it. It doesn’t look as pretty as the first time I made it because the almonds aren’t there to present a contrast against the dark chocolate, and there was a lot of chocolate ganache so the pie is just really full from the ganache. However, this pie was amazing. It was so delicious, everyone (including non-vegans) were desperate for a taste. They weren’t allowed to though until the vegans got a chance. 🙂

delicious cruelty free pie

(I’m not sure who decided the pie should be served with a spoon?)

I’m not going to post the recipe again but I will link you to it! Vegan Smlove Pie from Veganomicon (this time I followed the recipe to a T so it is COMPLETELY vegan. The only thing I did different was use oreo cookies as the base instead of graham crackers, because I couldn’t find vegan graham crackers).

I also made the most delicious cupcakes I’ve had in a long time: Cookies ‘n Cream cupcakes. They were really moist, and just had an awesome flavour.

Vegan goodness

Cookies ‘n Cream Cupcakes
Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World by Isa Chandra Moskowitz, Terry Hope Romero, and Sara Quin

Chocolate Cupcake

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup soy milk
  • 1 tsp apple cider vinegar
  • 3/4 granulated sugar
  • 1/3 cup canola oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp almond extract
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup cocoa powder
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 cup of coarsely chopped vegan sandwich cookies (I used oreos, which are vegan)
Directions:
  1. Line your muffin pan while pre-heating the oven to 350F.
  2. Add the apple cider vinegar to your soymilk, and whisk together. This will curdle the soymilk and thicken it up (like buttermilk). Allow it to rest for a few minutes as it thickens.
  3. After your soymilk curdles, add your vanilla, sugar, almond extract, and oil to the soymilk. Whisk together until the mixture is foamy.
  4. In a separate bowl, sift your flour, baking powder, cocoa powder, salt, and baking soda together. Divide the dry ingredients into two batches, add separately to your wet ingredients. Beat until there are no lumps, or very few. Then incorporate your cookies.
  5. Place in the oven after filling the liners 3/4 full. Bake for 18-20 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean.
  6. Once cupcakes have baked, remove from the oven and place on a cooling rack immediately. Cool completely.
Fluffy Vegan Buttercream Icing
Ingredients:
  • 1/2 cup non-hydrogenated shortening (Earth Balance)
  • 1/2 cup non-hydrogenated margarine (Earth Balance)
  • 3 1/2 cups confectioner sugar, sifted
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract (I also used almond extract to complement the almond in the cupcake)
  • 1/4 cup soymilk or soy creamer (I used soycreamer)
  • 1/2 cup finely crushed sandwich cookies
  • 6 cookies cut into halves as garnish
Directions:
  1. Beat margarine and shortening together until fluffy. (I used my KitchenAid)
  2. Add the sugar to your mixture and beat for approximately 3 minutes.
  3. Add the soymilk, and vanilla, and beat for 5-7 minutes. (I added the almond extract here too)
  4. Slowly incorporate the crushed cookies, mix well.
  5. Once your cupcakes have completely cooled off, ice them! Add cookie halves as garnish.
These cupcakes were amazing. I made three batches. I felt like the first batch turned out better than the second and third batch, mainly because I ran out of canola oil and used olive oil. I just felt like the olive oil didn’t combine as well as the canola oil.  Everyone kept grabbing them, kids were gobbling them up. I felt lucky to be able to eat just one!
It was really fun to make vegan desserts, and realize the challenges vegans go through for day to day food. Even finding vegan sugar was difficult, and I don’t live in a tiny city. Everything turned out really well, and I feel like all these recipes are keepers for sure.

I hope anyone who tries these recipes will enjoy them.  They’re really amazing, they just require a little bit more effort than other recipes. 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

