Skip to content

Curried Bean Spread

March 27, 2011

Delicious curried beans

This is another recipe from The Daily Bean. The picture isn’t very attractive, but I thought this tasted pretty good. My boyfriend and I recently went to a vegetarian restaurant downtown where he got a bean melt sandwich. I thought this may be a version similar to his sandwich (which was so delicious). Alas, it’s quite different but still really tasty! At first I couldn’t find the right type of beans (Great Northern Bean) so I bought white kidney beans. I ended up finding the right beans though at an organic store. 🙂

Curried Bean Spread

From The Daily Bean by Suzanne Caciola White

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups of cooked Great Northern Beans (I used 1 can each of white kidney beans and great northern beans)
  • 1 green pepper, chopped
  • 1 onion chopped (I used 1/2 an onion)
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 3 tsps of curry powder (I used 4 “heaping” tsps of hot curry powder)
  • 1/2 tsp of cumin (I used a tsp)
  • 1 tbsp of soy sauce
  • 3/4 of water
  • 1 cup of celery, chopped
  • 1/2 cup of thinly sliced carrots (I used 1 cup)

Directions:

  1. Put water, celery, onions, garlic, carrots, and green pepper into a soup pot. Cook for fifteen minutes (until softened).
  2. After fifteen minutes add the curry powder, cumin, and soy sauce. Stir well until combined.
  3. Remove from heat, stir in the beans. Mix well.
  4. Put mixture into a blender/food processor. Don’t  puree, but blend enough to be able to spread over a sandwich. Chill the mixture.

It was a pretty simple recipe! I enjoyed it, it tasted good and it was really filling. The one complaint was it just needed something, alas I do not know what it was. Perhaps with more experience I’ll be able to tell you at a later point! We didn’t chill the spread. Instead we immediately spread it onto some whole wheat bread and then popped it into the oven with sprinkled cheddar cheese. 🙂 It was tasty! I had an open faced sandwich and it was still really filling. The recipe called for putting it on fresh baguette with apple slices, which would have been divine! I’m excited to take this for lunches.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

