Skip to content

Two Pasta and Bean Soup

March 24, 2011

delicious goodness

I’ve had this cookbook since last summer, but I had yet to make anything from it. The little blurb before the soup says “it’s an instant cure for colds!”. I can see how it would because it’s so hearty. I felt like the prep time took forever but I’m a slow prepper. Anyways, I  wanted to finally try something from this cookbook since I had it forever so I’m glad I finally tried it! I needed to make something for lunch and I wanted something hearty enough to have for dinner as well. This soup was a great choice.

Two Pasta and Bean Soup
From The Daily Bean by Suzanne Caciola White

Ingredients

  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tbsp minced garlic (I used more!)
  • 1 cup chopped onion
  • 1 cup chopped celery
  • 3 carrots, chopped (I just chopped a bunch of baby carrots until I had what I thought was three carrots worth)
  • 1 tbsp dried parsley
  • 1/2 tsp dried rosemary
  • 8 oz rotini pasta (I used whole wheat 🙂)
  • 4 cups vegetable or chicken broth (I used vegetable broth)
  • 2 cups water
  • 5 plum tomatoes chopped (I only used three since I don’t like tomatoes)
  • 1 cup pastini pasta (I used macaroni)
  • 15-oz cannellini beans, drained and rinsed (also called white kidney beans)

Directions

  1. Heat olive oil in a soup pot over medium heat. Add the garlic, onion, carrots, celery, parsley, and rosemary to the hot oil. Saute until vegetables are soft, around 5 minutes.
  2. Add broth and water. Bring the pot to a boil and then add in the rotini pasta.
  3. After 8 minutes add the tomatoes, beans, and pastini pasta. Cook for 6 minutes.
  4. Serve!

When I first put all the veggies into the pot, it smelt so good. The oil worked well to coat all of the vegetables with the parsley and rosemary. I don’t know how much of a difference taste wise chicken broth would be, but I went with vegetarian just to try something different. I ended up getting organic broth and used the whole box. 🙂 I was worried about the pasta. I didn’t know if it would cook all the way but it did! This soup was really tasty, and it just had so much inside of the soup. This would be a great soup for a cold day, and I can’t wait to eat some more!

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 24, 2011 3.45 pm

    Actually, I just had macaroni for lunch. Your recipe looks pretty cool to give a try.
    For more simple yet nutritious recipes, check at:
    http://www.fourgreensteps.com/community/recipes
    Hope you find recipes that you like.

Leave a Reply

