Skip to content

(Mostly) Vegan Chocolate Smlove Pie

January 31, 2011

Omg this is painstaking to make but DELICIOUS

I picked up the Veganomicon (by Isa Chandra Moskowitz and Terry Hope  Romero) cookbook about three weeks ago, and I had been itching to make this pie ever since I opened the book. It just sounded so good, and the night before I bought it I had eaten an amazing vegan chocolate tofu pie at one of my local restaurants. I finally got around to making it, and I’m really glad that I did!

This is a mostly vegan chocolate pie, but not completely vegan because I couldn’t find vegan chocolate (my health section in the grocery store is very limited, and I didn’t want to run into town to a specialty store). Everything else though was adhered to, and I did indeed use silken tofu to make this pie! I had to call my step-mother to find out what the difference between silken and soft tofu was because I originally couldn’t find any silken. I couldn’t get a hold of her though so I ended up googling it on my iPhone. The difference between silken and regular tofu is just that the fermentation process is different so silken tofu doesn’t require refrigeration and is generally used for desserts!

The goodness that goes directly to your hips

Ingredients
From Veganomicon page 257

For the graham cracker crust

  • 1 3/4 cups of graham cracker crumbs
  • 1/4 cup of canola oil
  • 1 tbsp of soymilk

For the chocolate filling

  • 1 lb of silken tofu, drained
  • 1/4 of hazelnut liquor (I used cacoa)
  • 2 tsps pure vanilla extract
  • 2 tbsps of arrowroot (I used cornstarch)
  • 12 oz of bittersweet chocolate (mine wasn’t vegan)

For the maple candied pecans

  • 1 cup of pecans
  • 2 tsp of canola oil
  • 1/8 tsp of salt
  • 2 tbsp of maple syrup

For the peanut butter caramel

  • 1/3 cup of natural peanut butter, at room temperature
  • 3 tbsp of maple syrup
  • 2 tbsp of brown rice syrup (I just used 5 tbsp of maple syrup)

For the chocolate drizzle

  • 4 oz of bittersweet chocolate, chopped
  • 1/4 soy or rice milk

Directions

 

  1. Preheat the oven to 350F. Spray a 10″ pie pan with a non-stick cooking spray.
  2. Prepare graham cracker crust by mixing (either with a fork or your fingers) the graham crackers crumbs with canola oil. Once the mixture is moistened, drizzle the soy milk and mix again.
  3. Press the graham cracker crust firmly into the sides and bottom of your pie dish. Set this aside.
  4. Melt the chocolate (I microwaved). Crumble tofu into a food processor or blender and add the vanilla, arrow root, and liquer. Blend the mixture until completely smooth. Make sure to scrape the sides with a spatula to ensure that it’s all blended. Add the chocolate to the mixture, and blend until completely smooth.
  5. Pour the filling into the crust, bake for 40 minutes. When your pie is done, the centre should still be a bit jiggly while the rest of the pie is firm to the touch. Cool on a counter for 10 minutes, then refrigerate for 3 hours.
  6. Prepare your candied pecans while waiting for your pie to cool. Preheat a frying pan over medium heat and set aside a large plate. Cover the plate with parchment paper.
  7. Add your pecans to the frying pan and stir frequently for three minutes. Then stir the pecans constantly for two minutes. They should be darker than they were before, and toasted. Add the salt and oil and stir again for another minute. Add the maple syrup and stir for a minute constantly. The syrup will be bubbly and dry.
  8. Transfer the pecans onto the prepared plate (use a spatula) and try and make sure they are not touching. Put the plate into the fridge.
  9. After the pie has chilled for 3 hours, begin to make the peanut butter caramel and chocolate drizzle.
  10. Stir the ingredients for the peanut butter caramel in a small sauce pan. Stir on low heat with a fork until the mixture is smooth, heated through, and falls in ribbons from the fork. If the caramel is stiff, remove from the heat and add more brown rice syrup.
  11. Pour the peanut butter over the centre of the pie. It will spread on its own, so be sure to leave 1-2″ at the side. Place the pecans on top of the caramel.
  12. Once the pie is assembled, you add the chocolate drizzle. Heat soy milk in a small sauce pan until it boils. Then add the chocolate and turn down the heat. Stir with a fork until it is completely combined. Turn the heat off and allow it to stand for five minutes, but stir occasionally.
  13. You can drizzle the chocolate with a spoon, or in a pastry bag.
  14. Chill for 10 minutes before serving.

I just don’t even know where to start with this. Firstly, it takes a while to make. But it actually wasn’t that bad because a lot of the time is just chill time. I regret not going full out vegan and using vegan chocolate, but I just didn’t want to make the hour long trek to the store. You’ll notice that my picture does not include candied pecans, and that is because I burnt them. Badly. It was a bit horrifying, but it was a learning experience! I just didn’t really know what to look for, and I spaced out which messed me up. I didn’t make the ganache topping, instead I just melted chocolate and did a simple chocolate drizzle! Maybe next time. 🙂

This pie is very good though, my boyfriend couldn’t wait to test it out and he loved it. He kept saying he couldn’t believe that it was tofu, and that “this is a bean pie!” It’s really good, and I think it’s something that’s easy to sneak onto other people because they’ll never know unless you tell them!

The layers take a bit of work, and  it’s a lot of steps… but so worth it! Definitely give this pie a try, and this recipe is definitely a keeper!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 31, 2011 2.56 am

    That pie looks so silky and delicious. I can’t believe this was made with tofu. Who would ever guess? I have a sweet treat linky party going on at my blog right now and I’d like to invite you to stop by and link your pie up. http://sweet-as-sugar-cookies.blogspot.com/2011/01/sweets-for-saturday-2.htm

    • January 31, 2011 9.30 am

      Thanks Lisa!

      This pie was really good, and I would love to participate. What do I need to do exactly?

      Thanks for reading!

Trackbacks

  1. Cookies ‘n Cream Cupcakes « Baking From the Start

Leave a Reply

