Skip to content

Lentil Artichoke Stew

January 24, 2011
tags:

Lentil Artichoke Stew, photographed by Bianca from Vegan Crunk

(Photograph taken from Vegan Crunk, 2011 as I didn’t get a chance to photograph it)

I work at a yoga studio, which means that a lot of the time I’m surrounded by people who are extremely fit, and extremely healthy. It’s nice because it does motivate me to eat better, and it also brings new experiences into my life. In the winter I had a staff meeting at work, and my boss had made this fantastic stew. It was extremely delicious and we immediately all hounded her for the recipe. However, it took a while to finally get it! She realized that she found it on an iPod app (21 day vegan kick start) so I downloaded it… only to find out that  it only loads the recipes once a week, divided into three weeks. I found someone though with the app, who had access to the recipe! Funnily enough it was done at the Optimyze Health Expo where I had to work a booth for my yoga studio. So I promptly wrote down the recipe, and I made it the next day!

I didn’t get a chance to photograph the stew myself, so I’m using someone else’s photo to just demonstrate what it looked like. If this is not okay, I’m happy to take it down! I’ve recently gotten addicted to her blog though. The stew itself isn’t very sexy looking, but it tastes damn good! This recipe led me to discover that I like lentils, and artichokes. This is such a filling recipe too! I think next time I will up the spices in this recipe.

Lentil Artichoke Stew

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup vegetable broth
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 large garlic cloves, pressed or minced
  • 2 teaspoons ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon ground coriander
  • 1 cup dry (uncooked) red lentils (3 cups cooked) (I used green lentils as it was all I could find)
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 2 cups water
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • 2 24-ounce cans chopped tomatoes (preferably fire-roasted), undrained, or 6 cups freshly chopped tomatoes plus 1 cup tomato juice (I couldn’t find fire-roasted, so I just used regular chopped tomatoes from a can)
  • 1 1/2 cups quartered artichoke hearts (1 9-ounce frozen package or 1 15-ounce can) (I used a can)
  • 1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper (optional) (I used this!)
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt, or to taste
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper, or to taste

Directions

  1. Heat the broth in a large sauce pan, or pot. Once the vegetable broth is heated through, add the onion. Turn the stove to medium heat and saute until golden (approximately five minutes).
  2. Add the spices (cumin, garlic, coriander) and cook the spices for two minutes. Make sure to stir frequently.
  3. Add the lentils, bay leaf, and water to the pan. Allow the mixture to be brought to a boil before turning the heat onto low.
  4. Add lemon juice, the tomatoes (with their juices), crushed red pepper, and artichokes before simmering for twenty minutes.
  5. Once the lentils are tender, remove from the heat. Discard the bay leaf, and add pepper and salt to taste.

So yeah! It was super easy to do, and super tasty. 🙂 I ended up putting mine in a slow cooker after it cooked because it finished way too fast!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

