Skip to content

Stew

December 19, 2010

Noms

So I decided I wanted to make stew in the slow cooker. I didn’t know how, I had never done it before, but with a quick google search and some advice from friends I was able to come up with my own recipe! It was exciting, and it actually tasted really good. We had a lot of left overs!

Beef Stew with Vegetables
From Baking From the Start
Makes about  8 bowls

Ingredients:

  • Stewing beef, cubed.
  • Peas (about quarter of a bag of frozen peas)
  • Carrots (I used a bag of baby carrots)
  • 1/2 of an onion
  • Celery (4 stalks)
  • 10 red potatoes, quartered
  • Salt and pepper
  • Flour
  • White wine
  • Beef bouillon cube
  • Garlic salt
  • Garlic
  • Cumin (I think!)

Directions:

  1. Plug in slow cooker on high. Dissolve one beef bouillon cube in hot water, following the directions. Put into the slow cooker, along with the beef cubes, carrots, and potatoes. Add water, salt, pepper, and garlic salt. I then left for school at this point, so I couldn’t add anything else. When I got home I added more.
  2. Dice half of an onion, and slice celery stalks into 1/2 inch pieces. Add to the simmering stew. Add the white wine (it was all I had, use red wine though if you have it!). I also diced and added garlic, along with some cumin and more spices (salt, pepper, garlic salt).
  3. At this point I realized my stew was watery, so I had to add corn starch to the liquid. I did this by heating a pot, placing the liquid in the pot and added dissolved corn starch so it would thicken up. This did the trick, and I added it back into the slow cooker.

That’s it! It was easy, though I made a lot of errors. However, it was really very tasty. I definitely want to make this again, this time though I’ll know what I’m doing so it won’t be so disastrous!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

