Skip to content

Thanksgiving (Part One)

October 31, 2010

So this is a very delayed post. I made some baked goods for Thanksgiving this year, and after last years badly recepted Pumpkin Blondies (which WERE really tasty…) I wanted to step up my game a bit and impress this year. So I decided to make the Baked Brownie, Garlic Knots, and Pumpkin Ice-Cream. I made all of these things the morning before my boyfriend’s Thanksgiving (which was in the late afternoon). So I was kind of pressed for time (understatement). However, every recipe WAS made. I started making the Pumpkin Ice-Cream first because it needed time to chill, and then I worked on the Garlic Knots. I soon roped my father into helping, so he mixed the Brownies while my boyfriend and I were shaping the garlic knots. This is part one, because I felt that each recipe should have a separate page. Easier to keep track of too.

Pumpkin Ice-Cream
from Sugarcrafter
makes 1 quart

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups milk (I used homogenized milk)
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 1/3 cup plus 2 Tbsp granulated sugar
  • 1 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp kosher salt
  • 5 large egg yolks
  • 1/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 tsp rum (I used Grand Marnier)
  • 3/4 cup canned pumpkin purée

Directions:

  1. Place a mesh strainer on top of a bowl that is resting on top of another bowl that is filled with water and ice to make an ice-bath.
  2. Pour milk, and cream into a medium sized bowl. Add the granulated sugar, salt, and spices and mix well. After mixing, pour into a sauce pan and heat the liquid (on medium-high) until it is just about to boil.
  3. Separately whisk the five egg yolks in a bowl. Once the sauce pan liquid has heated up enough, slowly mix in a third of the mixture into the whisked egg yolks (to slowly bring the eggs up to the correct temperature without them scrambling). Then slowly pour the eggs into the rest of the milk mixture. Cook at low heat, while stirring constantly, until it thickens enough to coat the back of a spoon.
  4. Pour the liquid through your strainer set over the ice-bath. Once everything is in the first bowl, add the brown sugar to the mixture. Chill (just long enough that it is no longer hot, just leave it over the ice-bath).
  5. Whisk in the pumpkin puree, rum, and the vanilla. Pour the liquid back through the strainer, this time over top of the ice-cream maker’s freezer bowl.
  6. Follow the instructions for your ice-cream maker, and churn the ice-cream!

This ice-cream was sooo tasty. I’ve heard my mother tell me that she has had pumpkin ice-cream before, and that it was very good. I was excited to make my own, and since I had bought an ice-cream maker in the summer I decided to put it to good use. When cooking the milk and spices, it smelt so good in the house. I’ll admit I was really terrified that I would scramble the eggs and have to start all over again, so this procedure probably took me a lot longer then it needed to. The key is to slowly add the milk and spices to the eggs so that the eggs can slowly raise to the right temperature, and then once you add them into milk mixture just stir constantly! When I served this at the dinner table (with the Baked Brownies), people seemed a little apprehensive to try it. My boyfriend’s father took a tiny little spoonful, then tasted it and said “WOW, this is great!” and promptly took a lot more ice-cream.

There are ways to make ice-cream without an ice-cream maker, but I’m not really sure how to do that. I think David Lebovitz has a good tutorial on his website, so maybe look there if you want to make this recipe.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

