Skip to content

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

June 24, 2010

Wow, it’s been a long time… Life has been busy, I was working two jobs and then switched to just one where I’m working a lot of hours (part time though) while I do online courses, and study for the MCAT. Maybe next summer will be an actual summer with no courses for me!

Anyways, so last night I was at work and trying to think of what I wanted to eat for dinner. I didn’t have any meat that I could use, so I needed something vegetarian. I started off looking for pasta dishes, but I didn’t have a bunch of cheese. Eventually I looked through rice dishes, found a cauliflower curry dish (on top of rice) and that made me think about curry… eventually I started searching for potato curry, and I found this recipe on allrecipes.com and it was pretty simple to make and it was SO tasty. Yumyumyum. My boyfriend helped me make this (peeled the potatoes and boiled them).

Anyways, here is the delicious recipe!

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry by MegKat

Ingredients

  • 4 potatoes, peeled and cubed (I used seven red potatoes)
  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil (I used olive oil as it was all I had)
  • 1 yellow onion, diced (I didn’t have an onion)
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 teaspoons ground cumin (Omitted)
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons cayenne pepper (I used 1 tsp because my boyfriend dislikes cayenne pepper)
  • 4 teaspoons curry powder (I used only 2 tsp of hot curry power)
  • 4 teaspoons garam masala (I used curry paste instead of the ground cumin and garam masala which is why they were omitted. For reference I used Patak’s Madras curry paste)
  • 1 (1 inch) piece fresh ginger root, peeled and minced (I had none)
  • 2 teaspoons salt (I used sea salt)
  • 1 (14.5 ounce) can diced tomatoes (Omitted because I really don’t like tomatoes, especially chunky ones)
  • 1 (15 ounce) can garbanzo beans (chickpeas), rinsed and drained (Mine was a bit larger, 16 oz)
  • 1 (15 ounce) can peas, drained (I had no peas, or so I thought, but looking for bread later on this morning allowed me to discover I had frozen peas…)
  • 1 (14 ounce) can coconut milk (I had only coconut cream, so I looked online and found that 3 tbsp of coconut cream plus enough hot water to make it ~1 cup so I made 2 cups to make it equivalent to 14 oz though I suspect it was a bit too much…)
  • I added more vegetables: Green beans, carrots, sugar snap peas. I wanted to use cauliflower but I didn’t have any.

Directions:

  1. Cook potatoes by placing them in a large pot with salted water. Bring the water to a boil on high heat, and once it boils reduce the heat to a medium-low. Simmer until the potatoes are tender, which should take about 15 minutes. Drain the potatoes, and allow them to steam dry for a minute or two.
  2. Heat a large skillet over medium heat, and add the vegetable oil. Stir the onion and garlic; cook until the onion has become translucent and soft which should take about five minutes. Season the onion and garlic with cayenne pepper, curry powder, cumin, garam masala, salt, and ginger. Cook for another two minutes.
  3. Add tomatoes, peas, potatoes, and garbanzo beans. Add the coconut milk, and bring it to a simmer. Allow it to simmer for 5 – 10 minutes before serving.

So… looking at my list I realize  I kind of just changed a lot, haha, but this is what I could do given what I had and I tried to follow as much as I could. I didn’t want to pick up anything, so I figured I’d just roll with it and use what I had. Either way, it still turned out AMAZING so I can only imagine what it would have tasted like if I had followed the recipe.

This recipe is so filling though, which is really nice to find from a dish that doesn’t include meat. I’m getting sick of meat, and  I’m happy to eat meals that don’t include meat but  I have a hard time sometimes finding good ones. Does anyone know any good ones?

Anywho, I ate left-overs for lunch today and of course it tastes even better. 🙂 If you’re looking for something good to eat, I definitely recommend this. Especially if you’re like me, and just wanting a different option than meat. If you try this, let me know what you think!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

