Skip to content

Cooking Light’s Sirloin and Vegetable Stir Fry

April 26, 2010

This was dinner twice last week! I made it first on Tuesday and it took my boyfriend and I a while to make (mainly just prep work) but when we made it again on Friday for our friends, it went really quickly. My family was impressed with it on Tuesday, and then so were our friends on Friday.

Recipe from Cooking Light (I have the Cooking Light Way to Cook: The Complete Visual Guide to Everyday Cooking book which is where I got the recipe from on page 176)

Ingredients

  • 1/2  teaspoon  salt
  • 1/2  teaspoon  five-spice powder
  • 1/4  teaspoon  freshly ground black pepper
  • 1  (1-pound) sirloin steak, trimmed and thinly sliced
  • 2  teaspoons  cornstarch
  • 1/2  teaspoon  sugar
  • 1/4  teaspoon  crushed red pepper
  • 3/4  cup  fat-free, less-sodium beef broth
  • 2  tablespoons  low-sodium soy sauce (I didn’t have low-sodium soy sauce)
  • 2  teaspoons  canola oil (I used olive oil)
  • 1  cup  (1/4-inch-thick) diagonally cut slices carrot
  • 1  cup  broccoli florets
  • 1 1/2  cups  snow peas, trimmed
  • 1 cup green pepper (We added this in)
  • 3  cups  hot cooked rice

Directions

  1. Combine the five-spice powder, salt, and ground black pepper in a bowl, making sure to stir awhile. Sprinkle the ingredients over the steak, coating evenly. In a second medium bowl, combine sugar, red pepper, and cornstarch. Whisk well, and then stir in the soy sauce and broth.
  2. In a large non-stick skillet (or wok), heat oil over medium-high heat. Add the carrots to the pan and stir fry for two minutes. Once the two minutes is up, add the broccoli and steak and stir fry for one minute. Add the broth mixture and cook for one minute while constantly stirring. Then add the snow peas (and the peppers), for approximately 30 seconds. Serve with rice.

Yields: 4 servings of  1 1/2 cup mixture of beef, 3/4 cup of rice

As I said, we made this dish twice last week because we were so impressed with it. We used Jasmine rice with it the first time, and brown rice the second time. This dish is super filling, even with the recommended serving size I couldn’t finish this dish. It’s so good to taste everything in it because it’s just super light and flavorful. I love stir fry because the vegetables have such a lovely crispness about them, my mouth is watering just thinking about it! One thing you should definitely do is spoon the broth over the rice once you put on the stir fry. The broth is so delicious. Everyone commented that the dish was really lovely, the steak has a slight spiciness to it (I believe from the Five Spice Powder) which makes it really nice. You can really taste the spices on the steak too considering it doesn’t marinate for that long. My favorite part of the dish is probably the snow peas though because I just love snow peas in general, and stir frying them just adds a really nice quality to them. Visually, this stir fry is great too because the limited amount of time in the heat for the vegetables is just enough to give them a really vibrant colour (I believe this is what blanching is for, to get nice colour). The vegetables just become really vibrant.

I can’t wait to make this again, just please go try it and swoon over how delicious it is. My dad used to make a stir fry which I thought was pretty good but after having this stir fry I don’t know if I’ll be able to go back!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

