Skip to content

Cooking Light’s Garlic Fries

April 26, 2010

This is a recipe my boyfriend and I made two nights ago. We decided to have steak (we split a sirloin), and needed something to go with it. I decided to make these garlic fries (I’ve been lusting after them for quite some time now) and a Caesar salad (with my own twists).

Recipe is from Cooking Light
Ingredients

  • 4  teaspoons  canola oil (We used olive oil)
  • 3/4  teaspoon  salt (We used sea salt)
  • 3  pounds  peeled baking potatoes, cut into 1/4-inch-thick strips (We used red potatoes)
  • Cooking spray (Didn’t use it, and regretted it after the first turn)
  • 2  tablespoons  butter
  • 8  garlic cloves, minced (about 5 teaspoons)
  • 2  tablespoons  finely chopped fresh parsley (We used dried parsley as it was all we had)
  • 2  tablespoons  freshly grated Parmesan cheese (We used a bit more, not sure exactly how much more though, and we used pre-shredded Parmesan)

Directions

  1. Preheat your oven to 400F.
  2. Combine the first three ingredients, and put into a large ziploc bag. Toss to coat, and then arrange the potatoes on a baking sheet covered with cooking spray. Bake the potatoes for 50 minutes, or until the potatoes are golden brown and tender. Make sure to turn the potatoes after 20 minutes.
  3. Place the garlic, and butter into a large non-stick skillet. Cook on low heat for 2 minutes, making sure to stir constantly. Add the parsley, potatoes, and Parmesan cheese to the skillet. Make sure to toss to coat, and serve immediately.

First off I would say, PLEASE use the cooking spray or grease the pan before putting your potatoes on! This was a mistake we made, and we paid for it (we lost some crispiness on the outside)… After we did the first turn, we greased the pan with a little bit of olive oil. Anyways, the eight cloves of garlic made a LOT of garlic but once you combine the potatoes with the garlic and butter, it’s not too much for one fry. The garlic added such a wonderful dimension to the flavour. A lot of people complained that the butter made it too soggy, but we didn’t find we had that problem. I melted the Parmesan cheese with the fries in the pan for a bit and then added some more off of the pan to give a lot of cheese (we’re cheese lovers…). My boyfriend doesn’t really like garlic all that much, but he loved these fries so that’s saying something! I found they went perfectly with steak too so I’ll keep that in mind. The other fry recipe I use involves boiling the potatoes a bit before baking them, so it was nice to not have so much leg work though the fries DO take a while to bake.

Looking at the recipe, I realize we changed a lot of the stuff but it was still sooo good even with the changes (and nothing major!). I’ll definitely be making these again, and it’s a good thing they’re low in calories because you just want to eat barrels of these!

Also, in case anyone was wondering, for my Caesar salad I added dill. I don’t know why, but I find dill and Caesar salad dressing go extremely well together… Or I’m just a huge dill fanatic. You pick 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

