Skip to content

Ina Garten’s Coconut Cupcakes

February 24, 2010

I made these cupcakes a while ago, just getting them posted now. I found them on How To Eat A Cupcake here. The coconut is so nice in this, and you can definitely taste the almond extract in it (which I had to buy specifically for this). Anyways, the real star for this recipe is the frosting. My god, the frosting is the most delicious thing I’ve ever tasted, it’s so creamy and smooth and just amazingly good. We toasted some coconut and sprinkled it on top of the icing which made it so good and crunchy.

Ingredients:
(this is the recipe halved)

Batter:

  • 1 1/2 sticks (3/4 cup) unsalted butter, room temp
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 3/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3/4 teaspoon almond extract
  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk (I made my own)
  • 7 ounces sweetened, shredded coconut (I toasted half of this in a skillet with some melted butter)

Frosting

  • 1/2 pound (1 8-oz. pkg.) cream cheese, room temp (I used Philadelphia Cream Cheese Spread)
  • 1 1/2 sticks (3/4 cup) unsalted butter, room temp
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/4 teaspoon almond extract
  • 3/4 pound confectioners’ sugar, sifted

Directions:
1. Preheat the oven to 325 degrees F. In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, cream the butter and sugar on high speed until light and fluffy, about 5 minutes. With the mixer on low speed, add the eggs, 1 at a time, scraping down the bowl after each addition. Add the vanilla and almond extracts and mix well.
2. In a separate bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. In 3 parts, alternately add the dry ingredients and the buttermilk to the batter, beginning and ending with the dry. Mix until just combined. 3. Fold in 3 1/2 ounces of coconut.
4. Line a muffin pan with paper liners. Fill each liner to the top with batter. Bake for 25 to 35 minutes (Mine took 23 minutes), until the tops are brown and a toothpick comes out clean. Allow to cool in the pan for 15 minutes. Remove to a baking rack and cool completely.

5. Meanwhile, make the frosting. In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, on low speed, cream together the cream cheese, butter, and vanilla and almond extracts. Add the confectioners’ sugar and mix until smooth.
6. Frost the cupcakes and sprinkle with the remaining coconut.

Yield: 12 cupcakes and 12 mini cupcakes

My boyfriend and I are both coconut fanatics, and I really love cupcakes so I thought it would be good to combine the two. I also realized that I hadn’t baked any cupcakes yet for the blog, so here’s my first batch! I have to say, the Barefoot Contessa definitely knows what she’s talking about because these cupcakes are just great. I couldn’t stop eating the frosting while I was trying to pipe the frosting (with a ziploc bag I might add). It was just so delicious… I made some mini-cupcakes with the left over batter (didn’t want to wait for the pan to cool again) which were really cute. I added the left over coconut on top of the frosting as sprinkles which made it have an interesting texture. These were just great, and they are something that should definitely be made at least once!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

