Skip to content

Dorie Greenspan’s Pumpkin Muffins

February 21, 2010

So when I made the Curried Pumpkin Apple Soup with my grandmother we had left over pumpkin from the soup so we decided to make muffins. I made these from Dorie Greenspan’s Baking: From My Home to Yours (awesome awesome book). These muffins are really good, we didn’t have a large muffin pan so we ended up making a little mini loaf to go with it. Unfortunately, we couldn’t find sunflower seeds to top the muffins with but these were still great. They were so delicious! The golden raisins and pecans  in this muffin are great. I don’t like regular raisins, but the golden ones were really good. The batter was amazing to eat, my grandmother and I kept sampling the batter before we put them in the oven. We were a little worried because the recipe calls for the muffins to bake at 400 F because the recipe is supposed to make large muffins but we just reduced the baking time a bit.

Dorie Greenspan’s Pumpkin Muffins from Baking: From My Home to Yours
Ingredients:

  • 2 cups flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 3/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ginger
  • 1/8 tsp freshly grated nutmeg
  • pinch allspice
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 3/4 cup canned unsweetened pumpkin puree (NOT pumpkin pie filling!)
  • 1/4 cup buttermilk
  • 1/2 cup plump raisins (soak in hot water first if yours seem too dried out) (optional)
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts or pecans (optional)
  • unsalted raw sunflower seeds, for sprinkling on top (optional)

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 400F / 200C. Grease your muffin tin or fill it with paper muffin cups (unless you’re using silicone bakeware, which needs no greasing).
2. In a small bowl combine the flour, salt, baking powder, baking soda and spices.
3. Using a stand mixer with the paddle attachment or an electric hand mixer, cream together the butter and sugars until light and fluffy. Add the eggs one by one, beating and scraping down the sides of the bowl after each one, then add the vanilla. Lower the mixer speed and add the pumpkin and buttermilk.
4. With the mixer on a low speed, add the dry ingredients. To avoid overmixing, I tend to have the mixer on for only a couple of seconds when adding the dry mixture, then to turn it off before everything is completely incorporated and finish mixing by hand. Dorie recommends this too! Stir in the raisins and nuts, if using.
5. Spoon the batter into the muffin tin and sprinkle a few sunflower seeds over each muffin, if using. Bake in the centre of the oven for 20-25 minutes, until a knife inserted in the centre comes out clean (jumbo muffins will take longer).

Yield: 12 regular sized muffins, or 6 jumbo sized.

We got a lot of muffins. We got 12, but we also had some left over so we made a little mini loaf which was too cute.  They were really good, the raisins were a nice addition. The pecans weren’t super crunchy, but still great. Man, everything I make from Dorie Greenspan is just amazing. No picture for these because these were eaten before I could get a picture. 🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 23, 2010 2.54 pm

    Sounds delicious! I’ve never had a pumpkin muffin before. Dorie’s book sounds really good. It’s been on my wish list for a while now, I’m thinking about buying it finally.

    • February 23, 2010 3.29 pm

      I’ve had only one other pumpkin muffin in my life from Tim Hortons (it’s sooo good, filled with cream cheese and has baked pumpkin seeds on top). These were really good though, they were super moist and the golden raisins added a nice touch. The only complaint my grandmother and I had was just that it could have used a bit more of the spices (we were thinking about adding cloves). You should definitely buy the book, it’s unbelievably amazing. Everything I’ve tried from it has been amazing.

      I ended up buying one from my bookstore online, which ended up giving me a major discount so that may be something to try (or amazon). It was actually pretty cool, I bought it with Cooking Light, and they retail for around $80 here but I ended up getting the two of them for $50 from the online savings. 🙂

  2. February 23, 2010 5.24 pm

    Adding golden raisins sounds nice! I can’t believe a cookbook can costs up as much as $80!!

    • February 23, 2010 11.40 pm

      Yeah, I like them way better than regular raisins! But yeah, here Baking: From My Home to Yours costs $50 here, and I bought another cookbook at the same time (which cost $35) but I got them both for around $50 online. It was pretty great lol. 🙂

Leave a Reply

