Skip to content

Pumpkin Spice Cheesecake Brownies

December 5, 2009

Another recipe I got from How to Eat a Cupcake. In case you can’t tell, I had a LOT of left over pumpkin, especially after making the original pumpkin blondies. 🙂 This is another recipe I made back in October, again, it’s just so delayed. Full time student is a hard gig, especially in science, there’s just so many lab papers you have to write!

Anyways, these were really good. Very tasty. However… I had a slight mishap.

Pumpkin Spice Cheesecake Brownies
Ingredients:

Brownie Batter
3/4 cup butter, melted
1 cup sugar
1 tbsp pure vanilla extract
2 eggs
1/2 cup all purpose flour
1/2 cup cocoa powder
1/4 tsp salt
2 tsp cinnamon

Cheesecake Batter
6 oz cream cheese, softened
1 egg
1/3 cup sugar
2 tbsp flour
1/2 cup pumpkin puree
1/4 tsp pure vanilla extract
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp each ground ginger and ground cloves

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350F. Grease an 8×8″ square metal baking pan.
2. Beat together melted butter, sugar, and vanilla, then beat in eggs one at a time. Combine dry ingredients and then gradually stir into butter mixture with a wooden spoon. In separate bowl, beat together cheesecake batter ingredients.


3. Spread about 2/3 of chocolate batter into prepared pan, and spoon cheesecake batter over. Dollop remaining brownie batter over cheesecake batter. Swirl the batters together by running a butter knife back and forth through the pan.


4. Bake for 40 minutes, or until center is set. Cool completely on wire rack and chill before cutting and serving. Keep refrigerated.

These brownies were SO good. I hate brownies too (weird, eh?). But man, the pumpkin and cheesecake were so good together. Plus the brownies just made this really delicious. However, like I said, a couple of things happened…

…well, we baked these brownies in a metal pan (by the way, every time I say we, I mean my boyfriend and I, he is my official baker helper). So… the cheesecake wasn’t properly cooked through, but the brownies ended up being a little bit burnt. It was kind of depressing. I’m not sure what to do next time?

Also, we were dumb and didn’t think ahead to “How will we get these brownies out of the pan?” and so we were kind of in shock when we realized it wasn’t going to easily just come out… Instead, we tried to flip out really quickly onto a plate and flip it right side up onto another plate… well… that didn’t work. At all. It was kind of sad. 😦 Instead, we had the cheesecake STICK to the plate and it just kind of fell apart from there. Oh, well, it was still quite tasty. But that’s why there’s no “finished product” picture. It didn’t look that great. 🙂

These brownies were delicious though, I’m hoping that now that school is over (well, officially over on the 7th) that I’ll have time to bake during my exams! We’ll see. My exam schedule is pretty blaaah and I haven’t started studying yet (I don’t want to!). Keep your fingers crossed!

Also, my boyfriend and I are making some homemade Christmas gifts this year. We’re going to make some bath salts and bath bombs, so if those turn out well, I’ll put them up on here because even if this is a baking blog, it’s still my blog!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

