Skip to content

Thanksgiving

October 12, 2009

Well, today is Thanksgiving for us Canadians. I’m excited, I love turkey (though I don’t enjoy eating meat at night time anymore) but I have -5- Thanksgiving’s this year. Actually, 3 because I already had two! Two a day though is kind of intense, though the fifth one will be a week later so it’ll be ok!

Anyways, I decided to make something with pumpkin in it since 1. I LOVE pumpkin and 2. It’s Thanksgiving. I gave these to my boyfriend’s father for his Thanksgiving. My recipe is from Sugarcrafter’s Pumpkin Blondies which were very tasty and good. I took about 2/3’s of the dish to my boyfriend’s family to serve 15 people which worked out just fine. Those who ate it, really loved it but some people didn’t try it. I think a big factor is the pumpkin, the pumpkin lovers were ALL over this recipe and absolutely adored it, but those who felt iffy about pumpkin in general stayed away (oh well, more for us pumpkin lovers!). Another factor (I think) is that no one knew what a ‘blondie’ was and I had to keep explaining to them that it’s a non-chocolate brownie…

Without further ado, the recipe!

The Ingredients:

– 2 cups flour
– 1 tsp baking soda
– 1 tsp baking powder
– 1 tsp salt
– 1 tsp cinnamon
– 1/2 tsp nutmeg
– 1/2 tsp cloves
– 2 sticks butter
– 1 1/2 cups brown sugar
– 1 egg
– 1 tsp vanilla extract
– 1 cup pumpkin
– 1 cup white chocolate chips
– 1/2 cup coconut

– 2 cups flour
– 1 tsp baking soda
– 1 tsp baking powder
– 1 tsp salt
– 1 tsp cinnamon
– 1/2 tsp nutmeg
– 1/2 tsp cloves (I didn’t have any so I used 1/2 tsp of all spice)
– 2 sticks butter
– 1 1/2 cups brown sugar
– 1 egg
– 1 tsp vanilla extract
– 1 cup pumpkin
– 1 cup white chocolate chips
– 1/2 cup coconut

So you should preheat your oven to 350 and grease a pan (I used 11 x 5 since it’s all I had).

In a medium bowl, mix your dry ingredients together (flour, salt, baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon, nutmeg, and cloves) until they’re well combined.

In a separate bowl, you should cream your brown sugar and butter (room temperature) together until nice and fluffy.

Once you’ve creamed the butter and brown sugar, add in 1 egg, your vanilla extract and the 1 cup of pumpkin puree. Once you finish with that, slowly combine your dry ingredients with your wet ones and once your batter is evenly mixed, add in your white chocolate chips and coconut.

Spread your batter into the pan you’ve already greased! Then pop it into the oven for 30-35 minutes (I had to do 45 minutes as my middle wasn’t baking right, but after the original 30 I lowered my temperature to 250 so that the outside of my blondies wouldn’t burn).

This recipe is definitely a thumbs up. It was so moist and dense (which is a good thing!). Each bite you could taste the pumpkin really well and the spices, and then every now and then you’d get a sweet little surprise from the white chocolate chips that are scattered throughout the batter. The coconut was less frequent, so if you definitely want a lot of coconut taste, I would increase the amount of coconut in this recipe. Personally, I love coconut, but I kept it at 1/2 cup because for me, this recipe was ALL about the pumpkin. It’s surprising, it wouldn’t seem like the pumpkin and white chocolate would pair well together when you first think about the recipe, but it was definitely an amazing combination.

One thing I found a bit frustrating was the middle of my blondies just didn’t seem to bake the way it should at all. The outer edges were nice and firm, but the middle was still soggy after 30 minutes which is when I decided to lower the temperature and up the cooking time so that they wouldn’t burn on the outside. This did the trick. A word of caution: your blondies may seem like they’re not done, because it looks like there’s liquid still within it, but it’s actually just the melted white chocolate chips.

Anyways. This recipe was soooo good and I’m glad I made it! I still have a 1/3 of these left for me and my family, so I’m excited to take some for lunches (as long my dad and brother don’t eat them all first!). Another great thing that comes out of this is that I still have a LOT of pumpkin puree left, so I get to make something else tasty! Thanks a lot Sugarcrafter for your Pumpkin Blondies (if you haven’t already pressed on any of the links going back to her website, do it now! So worth it, everything is so scrumptious!).

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

