Skip to content

Dorie Greenspan’s Classic Brownies

January 31, 2010

I got a KitchenAid for Christmas, and I just finally broke it in…

Anywho, I was bored and my dad and I decided to bake some brownies (after much forcing!). However, it turned out well! My dad insisted that we used splenda, and it was a different experience. I think the only thing that really occurred was that the brownies were a little dry. But these brownies were pretty good, I really liked them (and I don’t really like brownies!). Sorry that there are no pictures, but these were just kind of spur of the moment thing.

Anywho, the recipe is from Dorie Greenspan’s Baking: From My Home to Yours and it’s the Classic Brownies recipe on page 88.

Classic Brownies by Dorie Greenspan from Baking: From My Home to Yours

Ingredients:

  • 5 tbs. unsalted butter, cut into pieces
  • 4 oz. bittersweet chocolate, chopped
  • 2 oz. unsweetened chocolate, chopped (I only had 1 oz of unsweetened, so I used 5 oz of bittersweet)
  • ¾ cup sugar (I used splenda)
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract (I accidently put in 1 tbsp. of vanilla)
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • 1/3 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/4 tsp instant espresso powder (My dad put in 1/2 of a tsp.)

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 325 degrees. Line an 8” square pan with foil and either butter the foil or spray it with nonstick spray. (I just greased a pan… I probably should have used foil).
  2. In a medium sized saucepan, over very low heat, combine the butter and chocolates. Stir until just melted and smooth, then remove from the heat. Stir in the sugar, then whisk in the eggs, one at a time. Add the vanilla, and gently stir in the salt and flour just until incorporated. Pour the batter into the prepared pan and bake for 25-30 minutes, or until a tester just about comes clean. Be very careful not to overbake. Transfer the pan to a wire rack to cool completely, then use the foil to remove the brownies from the pan and cut into squares.

Yield – 16 brownies. (I got 15).

The KitchenAid was really painless! I don’t know what was wrong with me, I think I had a mental block about using it because it was intimidating and “professional” (ie it’s a KitchenAid professional). However, once we melted the chocolate we put the chocolate into the KitchenAid bowl and whisked in the Splenda and did the rest of the recipe.

These finished really quickly, I think less than 20 minutes is all it took. I’m not sure if my dad put the oven on Convention baking or not, but it was something similar to that. Anyways, they’re really good (even with my vanilla accident!) and I enjoyed them! You can totally taste the espresso powder, but it’s not overwhelming.  They’re really smooth in your mouth, and I think it has to do with the fact that we melted real chocolate on the stove to use it (instead of cocoa powder for something). They’re also very dense and so just one small is square is literally ALL you need to satisfy your chocolate craving (and you can have more just because they’re so delicious). You’ll need a tall drink of  cool milk to go with these though!

This was my first time using my KitchenAid, and it was my first time using my Dorie Greenspan book. I really like it, and I’m looking forward to making some other stuff soon.
(If I get time, I’ll definitely photograph these brownies!)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

